fbpx

Get ready for Back to School with these books!

For picture book readers:

 

  • THE ONE AND ONLY SPARKELLA by Channing Tatum; illustrated by Kim Barnes: A New York Times instant bestseller this picture book from leading actor, producer, and director Channing Tatum, a unique little girl has trouble fitting in at her new school, so her dad steps in to show her the importance to stay true to herself. Ella is a precocious little girl who just loves to sparkle and glitter. Her journey toward self-love and self-confidence in the face of adversity can be appreciated by readers of all ages.
  • SMALL KNIGHT AND THE ANXIETY MONSTER by Manka Kasha: A Small Knight must go on a magical quest to defeat an Anxiety Monster in this adorable, heartfelt picture book debut.
  • THE NEW KID HAS FLEAS by Ame Dyckman; illustrated by Eda Kaban: From bestselling author Ame Dyckman, a hilarious picture book about a new kid in school who appears to have been raised by wolves.
  • NEW IN TOWN by Kevin Cornell: This hilarious allegory about welcoming immigrants and new ideas comes to us from the bestselling illustrator of the Terrible Two series.
  • I EAT POOP: A DUNG BEETLE STORY by Mark Pett: What kid won’t giggle at this title?! Luckily, the story itself more than holds up as a read that’s equal parts humorous and heartwarming—perfect for fans of We Don’t Eat Our Classmates.
  • WHAT’S THE MATTER, MARLO? by Andrew Arnold: With humor and tenderness, Marlo explores anger and sadness, creating an ideal jumping-off point for discussion about these big, sometimes “scary” emotions for kids.

 

 

For older readers:

 

  • GENERATION MISFITS by Akemi Dawn Bowman: a heartwarming, fish-out-of-water own voices story about an eleven-year-old Japanese-American girl who finds her true friends—through the power of J-Pop!
  • FRIENDS FOREVER, Friends series (Volume 3), written by Shannon Hale; illustrated by LeUyen Pham: Following up their mega-bestselling Real Friends and Best Friends graphic memoirs, Shannon Hale and LeUyen Pham are back with Friends Forever, a story about learning to love yourself exactly as you are.

 

 

For stories that connect us:

 

For picture book readers:

  • I WISH YOU KNEW &OJALÁ SUPIERAS by Jackie Azúa Kramer; illustrated by Magdalena Mora: This sweet text highlights socially and politically relevant family issues surrounding immigration and deportation, drawing the connection to eternal themes of childhood uncertainty.
  • BE STRONG by Pat Zietlow Miller; illustrated by Jen Hill: From the team behind the hugely popular New York Times–bestseller Be Kind, a picture book about what it means to be strong.
  • PINKIE PROMISES by Elizabeth Warren; illustrated by Charlene Chua: An empowering picture book by Senator Elizabeth Warren, following a young girl who’s tired of hearing what girls can’t do.
  • ODDBIRD by Derek Desierto: is a sweet oddball who treats others with kindness, even when they exclude him for being different.

 

For older readers:

 

  • A HIGH FIVE FOR GLENN BURKE by Phil Bildner: A heartfelt and personal middle-grade novel from Phil Bildner, about a boy’s experience of coming to terms with his sexuality and being true to himself.
  • THE AMBASSADOR OF NOWHERE TEXAS by Kimberly Willis Holt: This riveting companion to the National Book Award winner When Zachary Beaver Came to Town is a tribute to friendships, old and new, and explores the challenges of rebuilding what may seem lost or destroyed.
  • UNCOMFORTABLE CONVERSATIONS WITH A BLACK BOY by Emmanuel Acho: Emmanuel Acho’s “Uncomfortable Conversations with a Black Man” has gone from a viral web series [the first video has over 20 million views across platforms] to an instant NYT-bestselling adult book, opening up a dialogue about racism. Now, Acho is introducing his message to the next generation with Uncomfortable Conversations with a Black Boy, also an instant #1 New York Times bestseller.
  • RISE UP!: HOW YOU CAN JOIN THE FIGHT AGAINST WHITE SUPREMACY by Crystal Marie Fleming: Perfect for fans of Stamped: Remix, This Book is Antiracist, and The Black Friend, this urgent book explores the roots of racism and its legacy in modern day, all while empowering young people with actionable ways they can help foster a better world and become antiracists.

 

 

Fun books to read after school

 

For picture book readers:

 

  • BEACH TOYS VS. SCHOOL SUPPLIES by Mike Ciccotello: The second picture book from Mike Ciccotello, about two very different groups learning to balance having fun and buckling down. Perfect for both the start of summer and back to school.
  • BRAINS: NOT JUST A ZOMBIE SNACK by Stacy McAnulty, illustrated by Matthew Rivera: The beginning of an exciting new picture book series focused on the science of the body from writer Stacy McAnulty, who leaves the solar system and takes readers into the human brain with the help of a zombie narrator—who may or may not be secretly salivating over this super powerful organ.
  • ROXY THE UNISAURUS REX PRESENTS: OH NO! THE TALENT SHOW by Eva Chen; illustrated by Matthew River: Roxy the Unisaurus Rex and friends return for a second sassy adventure about self-discovery in the next picture book by Instagram superstar and New York Times bestselling author Eva Chen.

 

 

For older readers:

  • WILLODEEN by Katherine Applegate: is a singular middle-grade novel about a girl who risks everything to help a handmade creature who comes to life.
  • THE GILDED GIRL by Alyssa Colman: This sparkling debut middle-grade fantasy, set in Gilded Age New York City, follows two girls at an elite magical boarding school who form an unlikely friendship to save magic.
  • MYSTERY ON MAGNOLIA CIRCLE by Kate Klise; with illustrations by Celia Krampien: Rear Window meets Nancy Drew in this middle-grade novel about a girl who believes she has witnessed a burglary from her living room window.
  • THE DOUBLE LIFE OF DANNY DAY by Mike Thayer: A boy who lives every day twice uses his ability to bring down bullies at his new school in this humor-filled middle-grade novel.
  • FAIRY TALE SCIENCE: EXPLORE 25 CLASSIC TALES THROUGH HANDS-ON EXPERIMENTS by Sarah Albee; illustrated by Bill Robinson: explore the science behind your most beloved tales, from Snow White, to Chicken Little, to Ali Baba and the Forty Thieves, and beyond!
  • SO MANY BEGINNINGS: A LITTLE WOMEN REMIX by Bethany C. Morrow: Four young Black sisters come of age during the American Civil War in this warm and powerful YA retelling of the classic novel Little Women, part of the Remixed Classics series.
  • A CLASH OF STEEL: A TREASURE ISLAND REMIX by C.B. Lee: Two intrepid girls hunt for a legendary treasure on the deadly high seas in A Clash of Steel by C.B. Lee, a thrilling YA remix of the classic adventure Treasure Island.

 

 

For the preschool set:

 

  • PRIDDY LEARNING: MY FIRST READY FOR SCHOOL by Roger Priddy: is an interactive early-learning book from Priddy Books. Aimed at preschoolers and focusing on key early-learning concepts, this book will help children gain the skills needed for starting school.
  • SEE TOUCH FEEL: 123 by Roger Priddy: is specially designed to stimulate toddlers through creative play, encouraging the development of motor skills and word and picture recognition.
  • HAPPY COUNTY SERIES by Ethan Long: This series offers a vibrant, graphic picture book compendium for preschoolers set in a Richard Scarry-inspired environment by Geisel Award-winning creator Ethan Long.
SHARE THIS
YOU MAY ALSO LIKE
LEAVE A COMMENT
Skip to content